A+ A A-

Joe Sakic Headlines the IIHF HOF Class

We don’t rank the players not in it, but we here at always have serious respect for the International Ice Hockey Federation Hall of Fame.  Today they have announced that Joe Sakic, Saku Koivu, Teemu Selanne, Uwe Krupp, Angela Ruggiero and Dieter Kalt will be the Class of 2017.

Representing Canada is Joe Sakic, who entered the Hockey Hall of Fame in 2012.  The native of Burnaby, British Columbia is a two time Stanley Cup Champion and a former Hart Trophy winner as a professional but he also has a decorated career representing his nation.   Sakic won a Gold Medal on four different stages; the World Juniors (1988), The World Championship (1994), The Olympics (2002) and the World Cup (2004).  He has 41 Points in 48 Games representing Canada.

Future Hockey Hall of Famer from Finland, Teemu Selanne has played in six Olympic Games for his country and is the all-time leading scorer with 43 Points.  He has four medals from the Olympics (1 Silver and 3 Bronze) and two World Championship Medals (1 Silver and 1 Bronze).  He has represented Finland in 96 Games and scored 102 Points.

Selanne will not be the only Finnish representative, as Saku Koivu was also chosen.  Koivu won four Olympic Medals (1 Silver and 3 Bronze) and four medals in the World Championships, including a Gold in 1995.  He has 64 Points in 89 Games representing Finland.

Uwe Krupp from Germany is his nation’s lone representative.  Krupp played for West Germany in two World Junior Championships and two World Championships.  In 1998, he played for Germany in the Olympics.

Angela Ruggiero of the United States is this year’s female representative.  Ruggiero played in four Olympics winning 1 Gold, 2 Silver and a Bronze.  The Defenseman was also a part of four World Championships.

Dieter Kalt played for Austria in 14 World Championships and three Olympic Games.  He currently serves as the President of the Austrian Ice Hockey Federation.

The induction ceremony will take place on May 21 in Cologne, Germany.

We here at would like to congratulate the latest IIHF Class.

The IIHF has announced their 2018 Class

The International Ice Hockey Federation has announced the eight member Class of 2018 which include four familiar faces to NHL fans.

Lets get right to the new members shall we.

Current Los Angeles Kings General Manager and 20 year NHL veteran Rob Blake will be inducted in Copenhagen. Blake who won a Stanley Cup in 2001 with the Colorado Avalanche and is also a Norris Trophy winner is also a member of the Hockey Hall of Fame. Representing Canada, Blake in a Gold Medalist in the 2002 Olympics and also twice won a World Championship (1994 & 1997). Blake was also on the 1996 Silver Medal World Cup Team of 1996.

Three time Stanley Cup Champion and three time Norris Trophy winner, Chris Chelios will be joining Blake. On top of 26 seasons in the NHL, Chelios was a four time U.S. Olympian and three time captain of that squad. He would win an Olympic Silver Medal in 2002 at the Salt Lake Games and would win the World Cup of Hockey in 1996. He also played in the Canada Cup three times.

Six time NHL All Star Daniel Alfredsson will be Sweden’s lone representative to the IIHOF. The long time Ottawa Senator suited up for Sweden in the Olympics five times, one resulting in a Gold Medal (2006) and one a Silver Medal (2014). Alfredsson also had two Silvers and a Bronze in World Hockey Championship competition.

Three time Frank J. Selke Award winner, Jere Lehtinen will also be included. The former Stanley Cup Champion with the Dallas Stars represented Finland in the Olympics five times, capturing a Silver Medal in 2006 and three Bronze Medals (1994, 1998 & 2010). In the World Championships he captured a Gold Medal in the 1995 tournament and also won three Silver Medals.

The other four inductees are French National Team and former Executive (Philippe Lacarriere); former Referee Bob Nadin: Danish hockey player Jesper Damgaard and Latvian Kirvos Lipmans who enters via the Paul Loicq Award for outstanding service to hockey.

The Official ceremony will take place during the 2018 World Hockey Championship in Denmark, which is scheduled for May 4-20.

We here at would like to congratulate the latest members of the International Ice Hockey Federation Hall of Fame.
Subscribe to this RSS feed