A+ A A-
Committee Chairman

Committee Chairman

Kirk Buchner, "The Committee Chairman", is the owner and operator of the site.  Kirk can be contacted at [email protected] .

Buccaneers to retire Derrick Brooks' number

Derrick Brooks entered the Football Hall of Fame in his first year of eligibility, much like his long time defensive teammate with the Tampa Bay Buccaneers, Warren Sapp did.  The Bucs have announced that just as they did Sapp, they will be retiring his number 55, this season on the September 14th game at home against the St. Louis Rams.

Brooks will become the third player in Buccaneers history to receive this prestigious accolade.  The first was Lee Roy Selmon, who was the 1979 Defensive Player of the Year and was there from 1976 to 1984.  No other player in Bucs history ever wore his number 63.  The second was Sapp, who also won the Defensive Player of the Year, which occurred in 1999.  Sapp’s number 99, was taken officially off the Buccaneer market last season.

Derrick Brooks was the third Tampa Bay Buccaneers player to win the NFL Defensive Player of the Year and coincidentally, he is the third to have his number retired.  A member of Tampa’s lone Super Bowl win in 2002, the Linebacker was a nine time All-Pro, an eleven time Pro Bowl Selection and a member of the NFL 2000’s All Decade Team.

As we have mentioned, we are in the process of working on looking at all the major North American Franchises and how they honor those via retired numbers, Rings of Honor and franchise Halls of Fames.  We would like to congratulate both the Tampa Bay Buccaneers and Derrick Brooks at this time. 

Jim Brown sounds off on the Pro Football HOF Fanfest

The Football Hall of Fame had their fan fest where fans had the opportunity to participate in Q&A sessions with multiple Hall of Famers.  Many quotes abounded about the ability of Johnny Manziel to succeed in the NFL, the survival of the Buffalo Bills, and Michael Sam, who is poised to be the first openly gay player in the NFL, but in our eyes, and that of many, the most interesting quotes came from Jim Brown, who trashed the NCAA.

Brown stated that “the NCAA is probably the most reprehensible organization God ever created” and described their practice as “Total Exploitation” and that the “kind of money they make” when referring to key members of the NCAA and the high end institutions is “embarrassing”. 

He equated the NCAA a governing body that needs to be torn down and built up again from scratch:

“I’m totally for change and total change and I think that body needs to be torn apart and put back together with everybody’d best interests in mind.”  Brown also welcomed a rebuttal from the NCAA to bring this issue to a greater light.  To the surprise of nobody, The NCAA declined to respond.

Brown is far from the first former athlete (or current one for that matter) to take the NCAA to task for its archaic ways and perceived exploitation of many of the star student athletes.  Still, when a man the stature of Jim Brown takes the NCAA to task, you have to listen.

We know this much; of all the pilgrimages we want to take in the coming years the Football Hall of Fame fanfest is high up on the list; especially if Jim Brown is there again!

Dikembe Mutombo now #1 on our Basketball List

We here at are very pleased to unveil this year’s version of the Basketball List.  This is for those who should be considered for the Naismith Basketball Hall of Fame in Springfield, Massachusetts.  This particular Hall, does not just focus on the Professional game, but encompasses the College, International and the Women’s game. 

On our last list, our number three and number nine ranked players, Alonzo Mourning and Tim Richmond were chosen for the Class of 2014, as well as our number ninety-eight player, Guy Rodgers was also chosen as a direct elect Veterans Committee Candidate.  As such, there are three openings on our top one hundred which have been of course filled.

Our top ten has gone through a bit of an overhaul.  Chris Webber, who was our number one choice for our 2014 List, does not return to the top spot, though will be ranked at number two.  Webber was not chosen as a Finalist this year by the voting committee for the Basketball Hall of Fame, though his statistics reflect that he should have been.  His omission is likely due to the sanctions that occurred at Michigan from his acceptance of financial aid from boosters.

Our new number one player is Dikembe Mutombo who is entering his first year of eligibility.  The African born player was the NBA Defensive Player of the Year four times, and played in the NBA All Star Game eight times.  As mentioned, Webber slides down to number two, and Spencer Haywood is at number three.  Haywood was also a Finalist for the Hall of Fame last year, and was informed erroneously that he was chosen two years ago.

The top ten rounds out with Jack Sikma (four), Sidney Moncreif (five), Mark Aguire (six), Buck Williams (seven), Max Zaslovski (eight), Bob Dandridge (nine) and Shawn Kemp (ten).  At the tail end of the top one hundred, previous list entries, Anthony Mason and Dale Davis return at ninety-nine and one hundred respectively.

As always, we encourage all of you to cast your votes and give an opinion.  Rankings are always affected but what we hear from all of you! 

Willie McGee and Jim Edmonds to the Cardinals HOF

The St. Louis Cardinals, who launched their franchise’s Hall of Fame in January of this year, has announced that four new members will be inducted along with the twenty-two men who were inducted immediately.

Those initial twenty-two, were players and contributors who were already inducted into the Baseball Hall of Fame after having extensive service with the St. Louis Cardinals.  It was announced that the fans would be able to vote on a ballot of eight former Cardinals, whereby the top two would also be inducted. 

The votes are in and the Cardinals fans chose Willie McGee and Jim Edmonds to join the esteemed Hall.  McGee won the 1985 National League MVP Award on a season where he won the Batting Title, a Silver Slugger and a Gold Glove Award. 

Jim Edmonds was a part of the 2006 World Series Championship Team and earned three All Star appearances and three Gold Gloves.  The popular outfielder smacked 241 Home Runs while playing there.

The special “Red Ribbon Committee” added Marty Marion, “The Octopus” to their Hall of Fame.  Marion was not known for his hitting, but he was regarded as the top defensive infielder in his day and he won the 1944 NL MVP Award.

The Cardinals themselves chose longtime broadcaster, Mike Shannon, who served in that capacity for four decades.

We would again like to congratulate the St. Louis Cardinals for putting together a quality Hall of Fame that is fan interactive and recognizes their glorious past.